Los Comales food coma

loscomales_sope

Los Comales
4774 Summer Ave.

Los Comales was one of the few places left on Summer Ave. I had yet to try, and I didn’t leave disappointed.  I walked in with one of my Culinary Experts and choose to sit in the patio area since it was a nice spring day. There is a lot going on in this “shopping center,” including Charlie’s Meat Market, Edo, and a Plasma Donation Center, all of which seem to be tucked away in their little secret corners.

salsa_loscomales

Our waitress brought out the salsa, and I was pleasantly surprised to find it fresh, with tons of cilantro.  It had no heat but was very refreshing.  I ordered a torta with pastor and one tripa taco.  The torta was delicious.  The marinated pork was flavorful combined with a big hunk of cheese, jalapenos, avocado, lettuce, mayo, and refried beans.  I also added the fried onions that came on the side.

torta_loscomales

The tripa taco was also a delight. The intestine meat was cooked perfectly with a slight crispness to it on a homemade tortilla.  I also added their homemade hot sauce.  My expert was equally delighted in their meal, which included a delicious and fresh-tasting asada taco and a hongo (mushroom) sope piled with refried beans, sautéed mushrooms, lettuce, tomatoes, avocado, sour cream, and crumbled white cheese.

tripa_loscomales

Toward the end of the meal when food coma was starting to set in I noticed a man that had already been defeated, sitting in the corner of the patio full of food and three Coronas (yes they have beer here!) taking an afternoon nap.  I would soon be joining him.

One comment

Leave a comment